Irish entrepreneurs compete for global entrepreneurship award

June 6, 2012 - Openet

Joe Hogan and Niall Norton of Openet, winner of the Ernst & Young Ireland Entrepreneur Of The Year Award 2011, are gearing up to compete in the 12th Ernst & Young World Entrepreneur Of The Year Award.

Openet will be among over 50 country winners of the national award competing for the world title. The winner will be announced at a gala on the evening of Saturday, 9 June in Monte Carlo.

Niall Norton of Openet said: "We are pleased and honoured to represent Ireland at the prestigious Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year World competition. Being the winner for Ireland has been incredibly positive for our business - the enhanced recognition with customers, with staff, with our families and in the wider Irish business community where good news is hard to come by these days. As we look forward, it is participation in this event where we are ranked alongside other world class contestants, that provides us with the encouragement and energy to drive to the challenges ahead with optimism"

Frank O'Keeffe, partner-in-charge of the Ernst and Young Entrepreneur Of The Year said: "Joe Hogan and Niall Norton represent the very best that Ireland has to offer on a global stage. 99pc of Openet revenues come from outside Ireland and its software is used by some of the largest brands across the globe. Openet will compete with over 50 other country winners for the coveted world title. Companies from around the world, including: Linkedin, Benetton and Rovio (Angry Birds) and I know they will do Ireland proud.

Previous winners of the prestigious award include: Olivia Lum, Group CEO and President, Hyflux Limited (Singapore), Guy Laliberté, Founder and CEO, Cirque du Soleil (Canada), Narayana Murthy, Founder and Chairman of Infosys Technologies Limited (India) and Cho Tak Wong, Chairman, Fuyao Glass Industry Group (China).

The overall winner is chosen by an independent judging panel, a distinguished group of former Entrepreneur Of The Year winners. The award is given on the basis of six criteria allowing all country winners an equal opportunity to compete: entrepreneurial spirit, financial performance, strategic direction, innovation, global impact and personal integrity/influence.

A full list of over 50 country winners competing this year is available at


How the 5G value plane will turn revenue dreams into reality

April 5, 2021

5G will spark re-invention in a defining year for telecoms

March 22, 2021

Standalone 5G – Service provider revenues will be driven by network-embedded services

February 1, 2021